Faculty Sponsors Engaged Living Furman University

Engaged Living allows you to explore your interests through a wide variety of interdisciplinary topics. For that, you can thank our dedicated faculty and staff who will serve as important mentors to you as you begin your college experience.

Our academic programs are designed and led by faculty with a special interest in a particular topic. Our faculty find creative ways to engage you in your learning community, leading you through course content and extracurricular activities that are relevant to your area of focus. More importantly, our program allows you to connect with faculty and staff mentors who share your interest. 

PROGRAM DIRECTORS

Assistant Dean for the First-Year and Second-Year Experience
brad.harmon@furman.edu

Teddi Walker

Associate Director of Residence Life
teddi.walker.edu

2019-2020 FACULTY mentORS

Karen Allen Furman University

Karen Allen

Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.2504
karen.allen@furman.edu
Brannon Andersen Furman University

Brannon Andersen

Professor and Chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3366
brannon.andersen@furman.edu
John Banisaukas Furman University

John Banisaukas

Director of Pre-Professional Advising
Chief Health Careers Advisor
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
864.294.3042
john.banisaukas@furman.edu
Gretchen Braun Furman University

Gretchen Braun

Associate Professor of English
864.294.3137
gretchen.braun@furman.edu
Susan D'Amato Furman University

Susan D'Amato

Professor of Physics
Faculty Associate for Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.3604
susan.damato@furman.edu
Weston Dripps Furman University

Weston Dripps

Executive Director of the Shi Center for Sustainability
Associate Professor  of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3392
weston.dripps@furman.edu
Linnea Freeman Furman University

Linnea Freeman

Assistant Professor of Biology 864.294.3084
linnea.freeman@furman.edu
Benjamin Storey Furman University

Benjamin Storey

Associate Professor of Politics and International Affairs
Co-Director of the Tocqueville Program
864.294.3574
benjamin.storey@furman.edu
Jenna Storey Furman University

Jenna Silber Storey

Asssistant Professor of Politics and International Affairs
Managing Director of the Tocqueville Program
864.294.2254
jenna.storey@furman.edu
Alfons Teipen Furman University

Alfons Teipen

Chair, Middle East and Islamic Studies Minor
Professor of Religion
864.294.3310
alfons.teipen@furman.edu

2019-2020 STAFF mentORS

Coreea Allen Furman University

Coreea Allen

Assistant Health Careers Advisor
864.294.0076
coreea.allen@furman.edu
Eric Cain Furman University

Eric Cain

Director of the Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.2511
eric.cain@furman.edu
Hannah Dailey Furman University

Hannah Dailey

Program Coordinator for Community Conservation Corpsand Campus Sustainability Programs
864.294.3680
hannah.dailey@furman.edu
Rolyn Rollins Furman University

Rolyn Rollins

Program Coordinator, Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.2427
rolyn.rollins@furman.edu

Connect with Admission

Furman is one of the nation's premier liberal arts and sciences universities. We offer our students The Furman Advantage—an over-arching approach to education that promises every student a four-year personalized pathway, a team of advisors and mentors, and the opportunity for an engaged learning experience that is tracked and integrated with the students' academic and professional goals.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University