Faculty

John Barrington Furman University
John Barrington

Professor of History, Department Chair
B.A., Oxford University; M.A., Ph.D., College of William and Mary.
Colonial America, Latin America
john.barrington@furman.edu
T. Lloyd Benson Furman University
T. Lloyd Benson

Walter Kenneth Mattison Professor of History
A.A., Empire State College, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Virginia.
Nineteenth Century United States, American Regions, Humanities, Computing
lloyd.benson@furman.edu
Erik Ching Furman University
Erik Ching

Professor of History, Herman N. Hipp Chair (2003-2006)
B.A., Pacific Lutheran University; M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara.
Modern Latin America, Africa
erik.ching@furman.edu
Carolyn Day Furman University
Carolyn Day

Assistant Professor of History
B.A. (History), B.S. (Microbiology), Louisiana State University; M.Phil., University of Cambridge, UK.; Ph.D., Tulane University
carolyn.day@furman.edu
Timothy Fehler Furman University Tim Fehler

Director of Undergraduate Research & Internships, Professor of History
B.A., Baylor University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Early Modern Europe, Poverty and Social Welfare, Germany, Renaissance and Reformation, British Isles
timothy.fehler@furman.edu
Jason Hansen Furman University
Jason Hansen

Assistant Professor of History
B.A., Syracuse University; Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Modern Germany, Nationalism, Cartography
jason.hansen@furman.edu
Lane Harris Furman University
Lane Harris

Assistant Professor of History
B.A., Drake University; M.A., Washington University; Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Republican Chinese History
lane.harris@furman.edu
Jim Leavell Furman University
Jim Leavell

Herring Professor of Asian Studies, Emeritus
B.A., Baylor University; M.A., Baylor University; Ph.D., Duke University.
Japan, China
jim.leavell@furman.edu
Wendy Matsumura
Wendy Matsumura

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., New York University.
Modern Japanese History, Japanese Agrarianism, The New Left
wendy.matsumura@furman.edu
 Savita Nair Furman University
Savita Nair

Associate Professor of History and Asian Studies
B.A., Carnegie Mellon University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania.
Modern South Asia; Indian Ocean History; Gender, Diaspora, and Ethnicity, and Nationalism
savita.nair@furman.edu
Steve O'Neill Furman University Steve O'Neill

Director of The Huff Center, Professor of History
B.A., Furman University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Virginia.
Modern South
steve.oneill@furman.edu
David Shi Furman University
David Shi

Furman University President (1994-2010)
B.A., Furman University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Virginia.
david.shi@furman.edu
Cengiz Sisman Furman University
Cengiz Sisman

Assistant Professor of History
B.A., Bogazici University, Istanbul; M.A., Temple University; Ph.D., Harvard University.
Modern Middle East, Ottoman and Turkish Jewish Studies, Sufism - Kabbalah, Sabbateanism and Donmes, Anti-Sabbateanism, Anti-Semitism - Anti-Westernism - Rise of Islamism
cengiz.sisman@furman.edu
David Spear Furman University
David Spear

William E. Leverette, Jr. Professor of History
B.A. Lawrence University; M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara.
Medieval Europe, Ancient History
david.spear@furman.edu
 Marian Strobel Furman University Marian Strobel

William Montgomery Burnett Professor of History
B.A., Mount Holyoke College; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
Women's History, Modern United States History, African-American History
marian.strobel@furman.edu
Courtney Tollison Furman University
Courtney Tollison

Assistant Professor of History
Upcountry History Museum Historian
B.A. Furman University, M.A., Ph.D., University of South Carolina; Graduate Certificate - University of South Carolina (Women's Studies)
Post-1865 United States History, Civil Rights, Women's History, Oral History, History of Furman University  
courtney.tollison@furman.edu
Diane Vecchio Furman University
Diane Vecchio

Professor of History
B.A., State University of New York; M.A. PhD., Syracuse University.
American Social and Cultural History, European Women, Immigration and Ethnicity, European Women's History 
diane.vecchio@furman.edu

Staff

Carolyn Sims Furman University
Carolyn Sims

Department Assistant
864.294.2182
carolyn.sims@furman.edu
Melissa Hammer Furman University
Missy Hammer

Department Assistant
864.294.2168
melissa.hammer@furman.edu
​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University