The English department is pleased to offer each year a number of awards and scholarships recognizing academic merit and creative writing talent.

  • The Rudolph Bates Award

      This was established in honor of Dr. Rudolph Bates, a former member of the Furman English department. Each year, this award is bestowed upon a student who shows special interest and competence in Dickens or Victorian literature.

      Recent recipients:
      Elizabeth Hawthorne (2014)
      Rachel Glasser (2013)
      Taylor Davidson (2012)
      Hannah Chillag (2011)
      Stephen Hudson (2010)

  • The Courtenay Poetry Prize

      The Courtenay Poetry Prize was established in 1981 in memory of Margaret Beattie Courtenay. It goes to a student for outstanding work in writing poetry.

      Recent recipients:
      Lauren Vaughn (2014)
      Britton Holland (2012-2013)
      Taylor Davidson (2012-2013)
      Anya Hollingsworth (2011-2012)
      Melissa Troyer (2010-2011)

  • The Mattie Hipp Cunningham Scholarship

      This award, established by G. Watts Cunningham in memory of his wife, Mattie Hipp Cunningham, is a yearly award recognizing special appreciation and creativity in literature and the fine arts. Every third year, the English department gets to choose a recipient of this scholarship, alternating with the Art and Drama departments.

      Recent recipients:
      Bryan Betts (2012-2013)
      Ali Williams (2012-2013)

  • The Gilpatrick Short Fiction Prize

      The Gilpatrick Short Fiction Prize was established in honor of Meta Eppler Gilpatrick and is awarded to a student writer of outstanding fiction.

      Recent awards went to:
      Lauren Vaughn (2014)
      Taylor Davidson (2013)
      Lauren Ward (2013)
      Caroline McTeer (2012)
      Kristin Dollar (2012)
      Keegan Dyer (2011)
      Courtney Stroud (2011)
      Stacey Cobb (2010)
      Hunter Whitworth (2010)

  • The J. Decherd Guess Scholarship Fund

      The J. Decherd Guess Scholarship Fund was established in 1989 and awards one or more annual scholarships to English majors who demonstrate academic promise and the ability to write well.

      Recent recipients:
      2013-2014: ​Jennifer Bilton, Rebecca Zimmerman, Nick Holt, Kristen Marakoff, Laura Krueger, Carolyn Smith
      2012-2013: Ali Williams, Rachel Graf, Elizabeth Hawthorne, Collins Warren, Will Fallaw, Ashley Kinder, MaryJo Donzella, Suzanne Burton, Brittany Baker, Laura Krueger
      2011-2012: Tim Bauman, Matt Burchanoski, Hsiao-Wen (Vicky) Cheng, DeShanda Edwards, Meredith Edwards, Britton Holland, Julie Jarriel, Kristen Layne, Hannah Woodard, Bryan Betts, Alison Williams
      2010-2011: Erin McChristian, Kara Barlow, Caroline McTeer, Emily Hallmark, Taylor Davidson, Michelle Cote, Kristen Layne, Hannah Woodard

  • The Roger Peace/L.D. Johnson Award

      The L.D. Johnson Award goes to a student showing promise in creative writing. It is awarded according to the terms of the Dorothy Peace Ramsaur Fund by the Community Foundation of Greater Greenville. The award honors the memory of Dr. L.D. Johnson, who was chaplain of the university from 1967 until his death in 1981. The award is continued in memory of Roger C. Peace.

      Recent recipients:
      Phillip Perko (2013-2014)
      Lauren Vaughn (2012-2013)
      Brett Stonecipher (2011-2012)
      Hannah Auringer (2011-2012)
      Kristin Dollar (2010-2011)
      Britton Holland (2010-2011)

  • The Pipkin Award

      The Pipkin Award was established in 1969 by the late Mr. Willis Benton Pipkin of Reidsville, North Carolina in memory of his father, a Furman alumnus, and of his sister, who taught English at the Greenville Woman's College. The Pipkin Award is presented by the English department to a rising senior majoring in English. The award takes the form of a scholarship which is given solely on the basis of merit.

      Recent recipients:
      Brittany Baker (2013-2014)
      Jacob Zimmerman (2012-2013)
      Taylor Davidson (2011-2012)
      Meredith Edwards (2010-2011)

  • The Ann Sharp Award Fund

      The Ann Sharp Award Fund provides an annual cash award and was established by Celia M. Millward in honor of Dr. Ann Sharp, who retired from the English department in 1996.

      Recent recipients:
      Ali Williams (2014)
      Sarah Johnson (2013)
      Zachary Treu (2012)
      Michelle Cote (2011)
      Melissa Troyer (2010)



Connect with Admission

Furman is one of the nation's premier liberal arts and sciences universities. We offer our students The Furman Advantage—an over-arching approach to education that promises every student a four-year personalized pathway, a team of advisors and mentors, and the opportunity for an engaged learning experience that is tracked and integrated with the students' academic and professional goals.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University