Faculty and Staff

Chemistry faculty members are devoted teachers who have dedicated themselves to working alongside undergraduate students in and out of the classroom. Our professors are good at it, too. They have received Furman's highest teaching and advising award for faculty ten times — six for meritorious teaching, and four for meritorious advising.

As active researchers who receive funding from national research centers like the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation, our faculty provide undergraduate students at all levels an opportunity to conduct intensive summer research. They lead individual laboratories and work with students one-on-one on meaningful research projects. Through this collaboration, our students are exposed to modern instrumentation and have the opportunity to co-author papers. Our faculty focus on eight areas of chemical research: analytical, biological, environmental, inorganic, materials, neurochemical, organic, and physical.


Mary Elizabeth Anderson, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
MARY ELIZABETH ANDERSON
Associate Professor
864.294.2101
maryelizabeth.anderson@furman.edu
Research: Analytical, Materials, Inorganic
John J. Banisaukas, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
JOHN J. BANISAUKAS
Chief Health Careers Advisor, Adjunct Professor of Chemistry
864.294.3042
john.banisaukas@furman.edu
Research: Physical
Meghan Breen, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
MEGHAN E. BREEN
Assistant Professor
864.294.2404
meghan.breen@furman.edu
Research: Chemical biology
Karen L. Buchmueller, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
KAREN L. BUCHMUELLER
Associate Professor
864.294.2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research: Biological
Mary Beth Daub, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
MARY BETH DAUB
Assistant Professor
864.294.2078
marybeth.daub@furman.edu
Research: Organic
Fred David, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
FRED DAVID
Analytical Research Chemist
864.294.2446
fred.david@furman.edu
Research: Bioanalytical Crystallography
Alan Day, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
ALAN DAY
Adjunct Professor
864.294.3605
alan.day2@furman.edu
Mac Gilliland, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
MAC GILLILAND
Assistant Professor
864.294.2166
mac.gilliland@furman.edu
Research: Analytical, Mass spectrometry
Brian C. Goess, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
BRIAN C. GOESS
Professor
864.294.2318
brian.goess@furman.edu
Research: Organic
Elizabeth Gordon, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
ELIZABETH R. GORDON
Lecturer
864.294.3048
elizabeth.gordon@furman.edu
Dian Sungeun Hall, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
DIAN SUNGEUN HALL
Administrative Assistant
864.294.2056
dian.hall@furman.edu
Timothy W. Hanks, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
TIMOTHY W. HANKS
Professor and Chair
864.294.3373
tim.hanks@furman.edu
Research: Materials, Organic
Lauren Jarocha, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
LAUREN E. JAROCHA
Assistant Professor
864.294.2416
lauren.jarocha@furman.edu
Research: Phyisical
Noel A. P. Kane-Maguire, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
NOEL A. P. KANE-MAGUIRE
Professor Emeritus
864.294.3374
noel.kane-maguire@furman.edu
Research: Inorganic photochemistry
Christian Kerpal, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
CHRISTIAN KERPAL
Adjunct Professor
864.294.2212
christian.kerpal@furman.edu
Research: Physical
Lon B. Knight, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
LON B. KNIGHT, JR.
Professor Emeritus
864.294.3372
lon.knight@furman.edu
Research: Physical
Kyle Martin, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
KYLE F. MARTIN
Laboratory Coordinator
864.294.3290
kyle.martin@furman.edu
Jeffrey T. Petty, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
JEFFREY T. PETTY
Professor
864.294.2689
jeff.petty@furman.edu
Research: Biological, Physical
George Shields, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
GEORGE C. SHIELDS
Professor
864.294.2008
george.shields@furman.edu
Research: Computational, Structural biochemistry
Greg G. Springsteen, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
GREG G. SPRINGSTEEN
Professor
864.294.2763
greg.springsteen@furman.edu
Research: Biological, Organic
Paul S. Wagenknecht, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
PAUL S. WAGENKNECHT
Professor
864.294.2905
paul.wagenknecht@furman.edu
Research: Inorganic, Materials
John Wheeler, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
JOHN F. WHEELER
Associate Provost for Integrative Science, Professor of Chemistry
864.294.3371
john.wheeler@furman.edu
Research: Analytical, Biological, Environmental
Sandy Wheeler, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
SANDY K. WHEELER
Adjunct Instructor and Industrial Liaison
864.294.3377
sandy.wheeler@furman.edu
Research: Analytical
Laura L. Wright, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
LAURA L. WRIGHT
Professor
864.294.3375
laura.wright@furman.edu
Research: Inorganic, Materials
​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman is one of the nation's premier liberal arts and sciences universities. We offer our students The Furman Advantage—an over-arching approach to education that promises every student a four-year personalized pathway, a team of advisors and mentors, and the opportunity for an engaged learning experience that is tracked and integrated with the students' academic and professional goals.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University