Meet Our Biology Faculty and Staff Furman University

Our faculty specialize in everything from genetics and ecology to anatomy and sustainability. But even though their background and expertise run the gamut, our instructors share one thing in common: They're outstanding teachers. Whether you're researching with us or seeking extra help on a difficult assignment, we're here to ensure your success.

Faculty members

Renee J. Chosed Furman University

Renee J. Chosed

Assistant Professor
864.294.3248
renee.chosed@furman.edu
Dennis C. Haney Furman University

Dennis C. Haney

Professor
Chair of the Department
864.294.2050
dennis.haney@furman.edu
Eli Hestermann Furman University

Eli Hestermann

Associate Professor and Executive Director of Health Education
864.294.3527
eli.hestermann@furman.edu
David M. Hollis Furman University

David M. Hollis

Associate Professor
864.294.2306
david.hollis@furman.edu
Gregory P. Lewis Furman University

Gregory P. Lewis

Professor
864.294.3249
greg.lewis@furman.edu
Min-Ken Liao Furman University

Min-Ken Liao

Professor
864.294.3246
min-ken.liao@furman.edu
Travis W. Perry Furman University

Travis W. Perry

Associate Professor
864.294.3009
travis.perry@furman.edu
A. Joseph Pollard Furman University

A. Joseph Pollard

Rose J. Forgione Professor of Biology
864.294.3244
joe.pollard@furman.edu
John Quinn Furman University

John E. Quinn

Assistant Professor
864.294.3756
john.quinn@furman.edu
Jason Rawlings Furman University

Jason Rawlings

Assistant Professor
864.294.3243
jason.rawlings@furman.edu
Alison Roark Furman University

Alison Roark

Assistant Professor
864.294.3757
alison.roark@furman.edu
Victoria Turgeon Furman University

Victoria Turgeon

Associate Professor
864.294.3791
victoria.turgeon@furman.edu
 

Adjunct and visiting faculty

Jeffrey Foltz

Adjunct Professor
jeffrey.foltz@furman.edu

Christine Schammel

Visiting Research Associate
christine.schammel@furman.edu

Cassandra Wright-Walker

Postdoctoral Fellow
cassandra.wright-walker@furman.edu
 

Staff members

Sherry Craze Furman University

Sherry Craze

Department Assistant
864.294.2084
sherry.craze@furman.edu
Gracie Farrow Furman University

Gracie Farrow

Laboratory Coordinator
864.294.2228
grace.furrow@furman.edu
Judy McInnis Furman University

Judy McInnis

Laboratory Coordinator
864.294.2228
judy.mcinnis@furman.edu
​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now