Meet Our Faculty Asian Studies Furman University

In Asian Studies, our faculty members have a variety of academic backgrounds, including everything from economics and political science to philosophy and religion. But even though their experience and expertise runs the gamut, our instructors share one thing in common: A passion for teaching about Asia. Our professors have a broad and deep understanding of the region.

Eiho Baba Furman University

Eiho Baba

Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Asian Studies
864.294.2389
eiho.baba@furman.edu
Tami Blumenfield Furman University

Tami Blumenfield

James B. Duke Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
864.294.2810
tami.blumenfield@furman.edu
Sam Britt Furman University

Sam Britt

Gordon Poteat Professor of Asian Studies and Religion
864.294.3518
sam.britt@furman.edu
Lane J. Harris Furman University

Lane J. Harris

Assistant Professor of History and Asian Studies
864.294.2798
lane.harris@furman.edu
Katherine Palmer Kaup Furman University

Katherine Palmer Kaup

James B. Duke Professor of Asian Studies and Political Science
864.294.3150
kate.kaup@furman.edu
Kailash Khandke Furman University

Kailash Khandke

Assistant Academic Dean, Study Away & International Education
Professor of Economics and Asian Studies
864.294.3274
kailash.khandke@furman.edu
Veena Khandke Furman University

Veena Khandke

Visiting Lecturer of Asian Studies
864.294.2463
veena.khandke@furman.edu
Lisa I. Knight Furman University

Lisa I. Knight

Associate Professor of Religion and Asian Studies
864.294.3293
lisa.knight@furman.edu
Harry Kuoshu Furman University

Harry Kuoshu

Associate Professor of Asian Studies and Modern Languages and Literatures
864.294.2278
harry.kuoshu@furman.edu
Wendy Matsumura Furman University

Wendy Matsumura

Assistant Professor of History and Asian Studies
864.294.3332
wendy.matsumura@furman.edu 
Savita Nair Furman University

Savita Nair

Associate Professor of History and Asian Studies
864.294.3332
savita.nair@furman.edu
Sachi Schmidt-Hori Furman University

Sachi Schmidt-Hori

Assistant Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures and Asian Studies
864.294.2108
sachi.schmidt-hori@furman.edu
Izumi Tokunaga Furman University

Izumi Tokunaga

Lecturer of Modern Languages and Literatures and of Asian Studies
864.294.3189
izumi.tokunaga@furman.edu
Shusuke Yagi Furman University

Shusuke Yagi

Chair of Asian Studies 
Professor of Asian Studies and Modern Languages and Literatures
864.294.3184
shusuke.yagi@furman.edu
Dongming Zhang Furman University

Dongming Zhang

Assistant Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures and Asian Studies
864.294.2951
dongming.zhang@furman.edu
Edward Yazijian Furman University

Edward Yazijian

Lecturer of Religion and Asian Studies
864.294.3682
ed.yazijian@furman.edu

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now