Summer 2014

2014-15 Academic Calendar

2014 Summer Session (Session 1 - 24 Days, Session II - 25 Days)


 Campus housing opens at 2:00pm
June 8 (Sun.)
      First Dining Hall Meal served - breakfast June 9 (Mon.)
Session I classes begin June 9 (Mon.)
 Independence Day Holiday
July 4 (Fri.)
 Session I classes end July 11 (Fri.)
 Session II classes begin
July 14 (Mon.)
 Session II classes end
August 15 (Fri.)
        Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch August 15 (Fri.) 
 Commencement August 16 (Sat.)
 Campus housing closes at noon
August 17 (Sun.)

Fall 2014      Spring 2015      May Experience 2015   Summer 2015

2014 Fall Semester (70 Class Days)


 New resident students arrive after 9:00 a.m. August 22 (Fri.)
 Orientation for new students August 22-25 (Fri.-Mon.)
 Campus housing opens for returning students August 24 (Sun.)
      First Dining Hall Meal served - dinner August 24 (Sun.)
 Classes begin August 26 (Tues.)
Labor Day Holiday
September 1 (Mon.)
Opening Convocation (10:00 a.m.)
September 4 (Thurs.)
 Family Weekend September 26-28 (Fri.-Sun.)
 Fall Break October 11-14 (Sat.-Tues.)
 Midterm October 15 (Wed.)
 Homecoming October 24-26 (Fri.-Sun.)
      Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch
November 25 (Tues.)
Thanksgiving Holidays
November 26-30 (Wed.-Sun.)
      First Dining Hall meal served - dinner
November 30 (Sun.)
 Classes end December 9 (Tues.)
 Study Days December 10,13 (Wed., Sat.)
 Examinations December 11, 12, 15, 16, 17 (Thurs.-Fri., Mon.-Wed.)
       Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch December 17 (Wed.)
 Campus housing close at 10:00 a.m. December 18 (Thurs.)

2015 Spring Semester (68 Class Days)


Orientation for new students  January 9 (Fri.)
Campus housing opens at 2:00 p.m. January 10 (Sat.)
       First Dining Hall meal served - brunch January 11 (Sun.)
 Classes begin January 12 (Mon.)
 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday January 19 (Mon.)
 Midterm March 2 (Mon.)
       Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch March 6 (Fri.)
Spring Break
March 7-15 (Sat.-Sun.)
       First Dining Hall meal served - dinner March 15 (Sun.)
Easter Break April 3-April 6 (Fri.-Mon.)
Classes Resume April 7 (Tues.)
Furman Engaged!
April 14 (Tues.)
Classes End
April 28 (Tues.)
Study Days
April 29, May 2 (Wed., Sat.)
Examinations April 30, May 1, 4, 5, 6 (Thurs.-Fri., Mon.-Wed.)
Residence halls close at 5:00 p.m. May 7 (Thurs.)
        Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch May 9 (Sat.)
Commencement May 9 (Sat.)
North Village & Greenbelt Community close at 1:00 p.m. May 10 (Sun.)
TOTAL: 138 Class Days  

2015 May Experience (15 Class Days)


 Campus housing opens at 2:00pm
May 12 (Tues.)
      First Dining Hall Meal served - breakfast May 13 (Wed.)
 Classes begin May 13 (Wed.)
 Memorial Day Holiday May 25 (Mon.)
 Classes end June 3 (Wed.)
       Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch June 3 (Wed.)
 Campus housing close at noon June 4 (Thurs.)

2015 Summer Session (Session 1 - 24 Days, Session II - 25 Days)


 Campus housing opens at 2:00pm
June 7 (Sun.)
      First Dining Hall Meal served - breakfast June 7 (Mon.)
Session I classes begin June 8 (Mon.)
 Independence Day Holiday
July 3 (Fri.)
 Session I classes end July 10 (Fri.)
 Session II classes begin
July 13 (Mon.)
 Session II classes end
August 14 (Fri.)
        Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch August 14 (Fri.) 
 Commencement August 15 (Sat.)
 Campus housing closes at noon
August 16 (Sun.)
​​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now